Ka’Chava Superfood Blend Review

Ka’Chava was one of the first companies that approached me via Instagram to have me test their products. So for that alone I’m totally grateful to them! I have never really been a fan of protein powders, because I prefer to get my nutrients from whole fruits, veggies, and whole grains. However, I made an exception and was so glad I did. I looked at their site and read their philosophy and the ingredients that they use, and was very impressed. Their superfood blends are vegan, gluten-free, and contain no soy, dairy, artificial sweeteners/flavors/colors, or preservatives. You won’t be able to claim this about most protein powders! Here are my thoughts.

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 4.41.58 PM

Taste: The chocolate flavor (which is the one I was sent) tastes like the best hot chocolate mix you’ve ever tasted. It’s not overly sweet (each 2-scoop serving contains only 6g of sugar from coconut flower nectar) but definitely tastes like chocolate, rather than like dry, bland protein powder.

Health benefits: In addition to the health claims they uphold which are listed above, the Ka’Chava powders are packed with vitamins and minerals: super high in nearly all vitamins, as well as calcium, magnesium, zinc, selenium, etc.

Uses: I don’t use this every time I work out, but if I did an especially hard workout I like to use about a tablespoon or so (I don’t ever use the full serving size when using any brand of protein blend). I mix this into a mason jar half-filled with plant-based milk and fill the rest with water. I shake it up and drink! I’ve also used this in açaí bowls to give them an added nutrition boost, and I’m sure it would be perfect in a chocolate smoothie.

Overall thoughts: I was blown away by Ka’Chava’s generosity in sending me this blend. I’m so glad to have this blend in my kitchen (even if it might take me awhile to get through the entire container!)

Leave a Comment

