Chickpea Harissa Falafels

If you know me in real life, you might know that I’m very selective when it comes to condiments. I have despised ketchup and mayo in all forms for years (and now, that includes vegan versions), but I love mustard, hot sauce, hummus, sauerkraut, kimchi, and salsa (side note, is hummus a condiment?) I even started a little stockpile of my used salsa and hot sauce containers to see how much I go through in a year. In two months I believe I’ve consumed 2 full jars of salsa and 3 bottles of hot sauce on my own. So the addiction is real.

I was recently contacted by the Mina Harissa company (which was already my favorite brand of Harissa and the only one I buy!) to see if I’d like to collaborate with them on a recipe. Of course, I said yes. There was no way I was going to turn down a request from the founder of my favorite condiment. I immediately began thinking of new ways I could use Harissa in a recipe. I was obviously going down the savory route, and I considered various salad dressings, a flatbread pizza (cause I really have to make a pizza one of these days), and a roasted veggie dish. But ultimately I settled on falafel, since it seemed like a theme-appropriate option. I didn’t have super typical falafel ingredients on hand, however, so these were made with a melange of what I could find in my fridge. They’re a bit more moist (ew, sorry to use that word) than your typical falafel, but I find this to be beneficial if you’re keeping some for the next day (word to the wise, though, you probably won’t have leftovers!) This recipe makes about 16 falafel, so if you’d like to make more, feel free to double it. You just might need to blend things in batches in your food processor, if it’s small like mine. Hope you try this recipe out, and be sure to venture over to Mina’s website to take a look at their products!

Ingredients:

  • 2 large or 3 small cloves garlic
  • 1/2 medium sweet onion
  • 3 sundried tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 zucchini, roughly chopped
  • 1 can drained and rinsed chickpeas (or about 1.5 cups cooked)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro or parsley
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp Harissa (I used Mina’s spicy red pepper variety)
  • 1/3 cup flour of choice (I used a combination of GF and coconut flour), plus more for dusting your pan
  • 1/4 tsp himalayan or sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp fresh black pepper
  • oil for lightly coating falafels (optional, I used coconut oil spray)

Method:

  1. In a food processor, pulse garlic, onion, and sundried tomatoes until chopped. Add parsley and pulse again. Add flour, spices, and harissa, and pulse again until everything is incorporated.
  2. Add chickpeas and zucchini, and pulse until just incorporated (small chunks are okay).
  3. Place mixture into the fridge for about half an hour to chill. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  4. Remove mixture from fridge and form into small patties or round balls. I find that patties cook faster and get crispier, while balls stay quite moist on the inside. If you don’t mind them this way, then balls are the way to go for the full “falafel” effect. Spray them or drizzle with oil and place in oven.
  5. Bake for around 35 minutes, checking occasionally to make sure the tops aren’t getting too crisp. Rotate the baking tray about halfway into the cooking time.
  6. Remove gently with a spatula and let cool on a wire rack or cool surface. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Chickpea Harissa Falafels

Leave a Comment

