Raspberry Coconut Banana Ice Cream

I know smoothie bowls can be a bit self-explanatory (just chuck stuff into a blender, and blend, right? What steps do you need!?) but I promise this recipe will make you see why this post is totally worth it. I never realized how beautifully the ingredients would combine until I was experimenting in my kitchen with some Harmless Harvest coconut water. This is the *only* brand of coconut water I will buy in the US (unless of course it is coming straight from a coconut), because their coconut water is 100% raw, doesn’t come from concentrate, and uses high-pressure processing instead of heat. As their name suggests, they’re super forthcoming about their sustainability practices and sourcing, which I love. It’s seriously just awesome. So, during my little experiments with recipes incorporating this water, I stumbled into the most delicious banana ice cream smoothie bowl I’ve ever created. Hope you try it out!

IMG_7667

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe bananas, frozen at least 4 hours or overnight
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1/2 tsp maca powder (I use Organic Burst)
  • 1/2 tsp baobab powder (I use Aduna)
  • 1/4 cup coconut water (or more if your blender is lower-power, I use Harmless Harvest)
  • Toppings (optional): 1/2 sliced fresh banana, 1/4 cup granola, 2 tsp chia seeds, 2 tsp shredded unsweetened coconut, carob tahini drizzle (see recipe below)
  • For carob drizzle: 2 tbsp carob powder, 1 tbsp warm water, 2 tsp tahini, 1 tsp liquid sweetener of choice (maple, coconut nectar, agave, etc.)

Method:

  1. For the smoothie bowl, pour coconut water, bananas, and raspberries into a blender and blend on high until you have a thick, creamy consistency.
  2. Add the maca and baobab and blend again until incorporated.
  3. Pour into a bowl and add toppings!
  4. For carob drizzle: whisk together carob powder and warm water until combined. Add in sweetener and tahini and whisk again until thoroughly incorporated. Add more carob powder if it is too thin, or more water if too thick.
One thought on “Raspberry Coconut Banana Ice Cream

Leave a Comment

