Cocobeet Cleanse & Review

There are lots of opinions out there about cleanses, and until a couple months ago I’d never really given much thought to doing one. I don’t believe in cleanses as a way to achieve or maintain weight loss or optimal health long-term, but I love juices, especially green juices, and I’d become interested in giving my digestive system a break for a day to see what would happen. I deal with some bloating at times, especially at night, since I’m most active early in the day, and doing a one-day cleanse seemed like something that I could feasibly add into my week without having to interrupt my relatively active and busy schedule. So I contacted one of my favorite companies, Cocobeet, which is based in Boston, MA, to see if they’d like to sponsor me on this live-blogging cleanse experience. Cocobeet is a fabulous company that makes high quality, nutrient dense, plant-based/vegan juices, smoothies, shakes, and also food! Their menu is amazing. Their juices are gluten-free, raw, and are made without high-pressure pasteurization (HPP). They are made with almost entirely organic ingredients, non-GMO, and local whenever possible. They do not use any preservatives. All good things and really exciting to see in a company, since so many juices and smoothies on the market are super-processed and made with sub-par ingredients.

I cannot say enough great things about how helpful and fantastic the folks at Cocobeet were in giving me all sorts of options for this cleanse. They let me pick how many days and what type of cleanse (from their diverse range) I would do, and I customized it to fit my schedule and lifestyle. They also sent over some delicious meals (a salad, kale chips, and a chia pudding) in addition to the full cleanse, so that I could transition back into eating solid foods the day after the cleanse, or have something to nibble on if I needed to. I must say the food was absolutely fantastic, and I can’t wait to be living in Boston for the next few years so I can stop by and have a full meal there!

I chose to do their Reroot cleanse for one day, as I am new to juice cleanses and wasn’t quite sure what to expect. It was also nearing the end of the semester and I had lots of finals and a busy/fun/bittersweet senior-in-college schedule. I decided that if at any point during the cleanse I felt hungry or needed an extra boost, I would not limit myself at all, but would try to stick to raw, whole foods. Other than that, I wanted to try to get as much out of the cleanse as possible, so I followed their instructions as best as I could. The cleanse includes a total of 4 juices, 2 smoothies, and a mini shot-sized boost juice to start off your day. On the cap there’s a little sticker indicating what time the juice or smoothie is to be consumed (super helpful), as well as all of the ingredients are listed on the bottle. Their juices are all very smooth, and after a quick shake up they’re good to go. There wasn’t any funky residue leftover at the bottom (woo!). Here’s a little stream-of-consciousness style report of my cleanse! I included some of my activities in case you were curious as to what I do during my super exciting days… 😉

IMG_8457

8:50 AM: Woke up (yep, I know, pretty late! I usually get up around 8:15 but this day I let myself sleep in because I didn’t have much on my schedule); I drank 750 ml of water with mint and a big squeeze of lemon. Since I woke up a bit late, I was slightly behind schedule for the specified times that are indicated on the bottles for the first couple of juices. But I caught up quickly!

9:00-9:30 AM: Drank mini juice #1, Heartbeet (beet, coconut water, lime, spirulina). Very concentrated. Surprisingly delicious (I find that beet juices can be hit-or-miss). Not too sweet or too beet-y; I felt good, very light. Worked on some assignments, caught up on news, etc.

9:30-10:20 AM: Sipped Watermelon Quench (watermelon, pineapple, lemon). Sweet. Perfect morning drink. Feeling good, not too hungry but definitely getting into cleanse-mode (aka slightly missing my usual massive breakfasts!) Watched some Criminal Minds, edited a paper, caught up on food blogs (I follow over 200 using Feedly!), youtube, etc.

IMG_8494

10:20-11:20 AM: Drank about 600 ml water with mint and lemon.

11:20 AM-12:20 PM: Sipped Green Genes (kale, spinach, cucumber, celery, apple, parsley, lemon, ginger). Very good. Super green-tasting but not bitter or sour at all. Filling, drank this slowly so that my body wouldn’t be overwhelmed by all the greens. Stomach a little rumbly but otherwise feeling good.

12:20-1:00 PM: Did some stretching, cried to a bunch of Kodaline songs, showered, got ready to leave for the day (I start most of my school days around 1 pm, cause I like to typically work out in the morning). Drank more water and snacked on a handful of green grapes (I’m not perfect, hah! And those grapes were calling to me…)

1:00 PM-2:30 PM: Drank Blue Coconut (blueberry, almond butter, almonds, filtered water, coconut oil, chia seeds, dates). I was quite excited for something thicker than a juice by this point, and the smoothie was super smooth and creamy. It tasted like a dessert! The blueberry flavor is subtle, but I did wish you could taste the almond butter a little more, cause I’m a sucker for almond butter… Worked on an assignment, turned in a final paper (yay!), ran some errands (I brought the smoothie with me!) I love that this cleanse took the guess work out of planning my meals for the day. Not feeling the usual post-lunch lull, which is so great! The only downside to this smoothie was that it really stuck with me for awhile, but that may just be an effect of having pretty much only this smoothie in my stomach at the time…

2:30 PM-3:30 PM: Worked on my LAST PAPER OF COLLEGE. Wooo.

IMG_8488

3:30 PM-6:00 PM: Sipped on Forbidden Juice (grapefruit, pineapple, ginger, lemon, cayenne, turmeric). Felt my energy waning a bit at this point, but that might have been because I was also working on data analysis… The juice was very strong in turmeric and ginger flavor, but thankfully I love grapefruit, so that masked it a bit. I felt really energized by the time I was about halfway through with the juice. It was very cleansing (ha, but really!), and detoxifying. It clearly took me awhile to drink this, which was nice, cause I wasn’t really hungry at all at this point. I also drank about 5 glasses of water during this period. Around 5:30 I snacked on a few bites of the Vanilla Berry Chia Pudding and a few bites of the greens from the Quinoa Burger on Arugula with Spicy Almond Spread salad that both came with my cleanse. Again, not perfect!

6:00 PM-7:00 PM: Sipped on Kale Karma during a work meeting (kale, pear, pineapple, lemon, probiotic). Feeling very energetic and I loved this shake! I think it was my favorite of the day. They incorporate the pear pulp and skin, so this juice/smoothie combo is quite satisfying. It felt like the liquid equivalent of a really fresh green salad. During my meeting I also snacked on some raw fruit (berries and melon) and drank 600 ml of water.

7:00 PM-8:00 PM: Sipped on Chocolate Power Mylk (cashews, filtered water, dates, raw cacao, lucuma powder, sea salt) when I got home. This felt like a great “dessert” shake, and was satisfying and filling. I think I only drank half of it though, cause the taste started to just get too sweet for me by the end! I wasn’t having any cravings at this point but kept drinking water throughout the evening to make sure I was hydrated. I also had a couple more bites of the chia pudding and a couple of the kale chips. I felt great and very full. Although, yeah, I cheated a little 🙂 But looking back, I think if I’d wanted to stay “true” to the cleanse by having no solid food, I could have. It was more of a mental decision in the end, and just wasn’t necessarily my intention this time around.

So, how did it all go? It went great! I would highly recommend this cleanse if you’re new to the biz, like I am. I definitely preferred the juices and the Kale Karma shake to the sweeter, thicker smoothie-like drinks, but my tolerance of sweet things is on the low end of the spectrum, so others probably wouldn’t have a problem with those. Also, this is probably a good thing because it means that if I wanted to do a full juice-cleanse I could! On the other hand, the smoothies were nice because they were really filling in comparison to the juices which are very light, so mentally you feel more like you’re having something substantial. I also was so impressed by the meals they sent over, and in fact those might have been my favorite part! Especially the kale chips with nutritional yeast, yum.

So, if you’re on the east coast and are interested in a cleanse, I would definitely recommend this. I would start a one-day cleanse if you’re brand new to it, because I know that I for one am looking forward to returning to (simple) solid foods tomorrow.

Thanks again to the lovely people at Cocobeet for their guidance and generosity. I really enjoyed this cleanse and would definitely do another one of theirs in the future. I also look forward to living nearby so I can come in (all the time…) and meet them in person to try even more goodies.

Leave a Comment

