Dona Chai Review

A few weeks back, the team at Dona Chai reached out to me to see if I’d like to try out some of their products. Dona Chai is a Brooklyn, NY-based company that makes hand-crafted chai concentrate. I’m a huge lover of all things chai, and I was very excited by the possibility of being able to make cafe-style chai lattes in my own home. Their concentrate also arrived just as the weather in RI was starting to warm up (we tend to go from winter to summer overnight) so as soon as I got the it in the mail I ran home to make an iced version. I am also beyond excited to try out the concentrate in other recipes, like oatmeal, pancakes, waffles, and maybe chia pudding. I’ll let you all know how the experimentation goes, but in the mean time here are my thoughts about it! The following review is based off of using the concentrate to make an iced almond milk latte, if you’re curious!

16-oz-cout-out

Taste: I was expecting the concentrate to be super sweet, based off of my experience ordering iced chai in cafes. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was much more mellow in flavor, allowing the spices to really stand out. It’s absolutely delicious. You get hints of cinnamon, ginger, and vanilla, as one might expect, but also a vaguely spicy taste which is probably from their use of black peppercorns. There was nothing watered-down about this drink, and it blended perfectly with almond milk. I’m sure other non-dairy milks would have been great too, and I can’t wait to try it in some of my baking endeavors to see how the flavor comes through.

Uses: I mixed about one part Dona Chai with one part almond milk, topped with a huge handful of ice, and finished it in record time. I’m also quite excited to try it in cookies, pancakes, waffles, quick bread, oatmeal… I can imagine it being good in just about anything you would want to be chai-flavored (which is everything, right?)

Health benefits: They make their chai using cold-pressed fresh ginger root (amazing, right!?) which preserves its nutrition profile as well as the freshness of the ginger “juice”. They use a brewing process that starts out with ground whole spices (you can seriously tell, too, because in my experience grinding your own spices when making just about anything intensifies the flavor beyond belief). They slow-brew these spices with black tea to balance the flavors. They also compost their ingredients when they’re done. Yay!

Overall thoughts: Really really enjoyed this. It’s sitting in my fridge now but I’m probably going to need more of it soon if I want to keep my addiction going. I highly suggest you check out their site and get your hands on some.

Leave a Comment

