BOLA Granola Review

I grew up in the Berkshires, a small hilltown area of western MA, so I’m always searching for local brands and products to support in my food conquests. One of my favorite health food stores stocks some different granola brands, but I noticed one in particular that always seemed to catch my eye: BOLA Granola, which is hand-crafted in the Berkshires. It’s made by a woman named Michèle who is serious about what she does, and has introduced Gluten-Free and Barely Sweet versions of her granola to match the demands of her customers. Michèle has a really cool backstory that you can check out by visiting BOLA’s site. Their granolas contain oats, almonds, and pumpkin seeds as a base, and they have some added sweetness, a touch of salt, and vanilla. That’s it! They also make BOLA bars, which are a delicious blend of bittersweet chocolate and their granola. Here are my thoughts:

BOLA_102814KSPRA_018-500x500

Taste: The taste of this granola is incredible. It is by far the crunchiest granola I have ever laid my hands on, right down to the almonds. It’s not cluster-y like some of the others I’ve had, but I enjoyed this because it felt almost like toasted muesli, and worked even better when paired with almond milk in a milk-and-cereal breakfast. The BOLA bars are also delicious. The sweetness of the chocolate is perfectly balanced by the crunch of the granola, and they’re great for when you need a snack to take on the go.

Uses: I love to sprinkle the granola atop yogurt, mix it into almond milk, or put it on smoothies or bowls of banana ice cream. It’s super delicious in all ways! The bars could be chopped up and added as a topping to ice cream or smoothies, or eaten when you need a quick snack at work or school.

Health benefits: BOLA granolas are certified non-GMO, mostly organic, and vegan! Their chocolate is fair-trade. The granola is high in fiber and contains a good amount of protein and iron.

Overall thoughts: LOVE love love. I’m so glad I had the opportunity to try out BOLA’s products and support a local brand. Their granola is not super expensive either, and can be ordered online. I encourage you to try it if you can!

Leave a Comment

